Dinámicas Territoriales Rurales



Mihir Shah
Planning Commission, Government of India.

Julio A. Berdegué
Executive Director of Rimisp – Latin American Center for Rural Development.

He also coordinates the Collaborative Program on Rural Territorial Dynamics, a research-based policy advice and capacity-development program for rural economic growth, social inclusion and environmental sustainability in Latin America. He is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT), serves on the Board of Trustees of the International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED, London), and is a member of ICCO’s International Advisory Council. He has conducted research on area-based approaches to rural development, the rapid expansion of supermarkets in agrifood markets in Latin America and the world and the impact of such trends on small and medium rural enterprises and agricultural producers, and value chain analysis and access to dynamic markets by family farmers and producer organizations. He holds a Ph.D. in Social Science from Wageningen University, The Netherlands.

Gugile Nkwinti
Secretary of Rural Development and Land Reform, Republic of South Africa.

Guilherme Cassel
Became the Honourable Minister of Agrarian Development (MDA), Brazil, in 2006. He served as the Deputy-Secretary of the Treasury for Porto Alegre, and also as Deputy Chief of Staff to the State Government of Rio Grande do Sul. He has held the posts of Secretary General of the State Government of Rio Grande do Sul and Chief of Cabinet of Vice-Governor Miguel Rossetto. From 2003 to March 2006, he held the position of Executive Secretary of the Ministry of Agrarian development. A civil engineer, Guilherme Cassel undertook post graduate study in human resources and was a fiscal researcher in the Treasury of the State of Rio Grande do Sul in Brazil.

Han Jun
Senior Research Fellow and Professor, and the Director-General of the Research Department of Rural Economy (RDRE) of Development Research Center of the State Council (DRC) PRC, Member of the DRC Leadership. He is Doctoral-advisor to the Graduate School of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and China Agricultural University and honored with Governmental Special Talents Allowances by the State Council of PRC since 1993, awarded twice with Sun-Yefang Economics Scholarship, and won Special Prize and three First Prizes in China Development Research Prize. He presented as chief economist in lecturing the collective study of the Political Bureau of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China, participating in drafting the Document of the 3rd Plenum of the 17th Central Committee of the Communist Party of China, participating in drafting the Central Governmental No. 1 Document (one of the most important economic and social development documents guiding the Government’s work each year) since 2004. His social positions include Vice-president to the Chinese Association of Agricultural Economics, Standing-commissioner to the All-China Youth Federation, and Advisor to the People’s Governments of Anhui Province, Tibet Autonomous Region and Qinghai Province.

Montek Singh Ahluwalia
Planning Commission, Government of India.

C. P. Joshi
Secretary of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj, Gobierno de India.

Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil
Honorable President of India.

Sudha Pillai
Member-Secretary of the Planning Commission in the rank of Minister of State, Government of India.


Thomas Thozamile Gwanya
Popularly known as Thozi, was born in Eastern Cape province of South Africa. Thozi’s social and political activism spans a wide spectrum from establishing Children Homes to alleviating poverty through civic movements and development savings clubs. In 1982 he was 13 appointed as Training Manager for the Africa Cooperative Action Trust (ACAT) until 1989 when he became Deputy Director at the Bureau of Development and Training at the University of Transkei. He become the Director of ACAT until he was appointed Regional Land Claims Commissioner for Eastern Cape in 1999. In 2003 he was appointed Chief Land Claims Commissioner SA. In 2008 he was appointed Director General for the national Department of Land Affairs now Department of Rural Development and Land Reform. He holds a B Comm degree, majoring in Development Economics and Business Management, a Diploma in Adult Education and a Post Graduate Diploma in Training and Human Resource Management from Leicester University. He completed training in Governance for Directors by the UNISA graduate School of Business Leadership.

Abhijit Sen
Planning Commission, India.

Mani Shankar Aiyar
Parliament Member and Minister of Panchayati Raj (2004-09)


The description of all the keynote speakers can be found HERE.